Bondi View

Dave Sharma officially concedes defeat in Wentworth

Dave Sharma

Dave Sharma (second from right) conceded defeat to Allegra Spender on Monday. Photo: Facebook.


Outgoing Liberal Member Dave Sharma conceded defeat in the Wentworth election to Independent challenger Allegra Spender on Monday, saying that he expects the difference in votes to “not change markedly”.

Sharma said he spoke to Spender earlier on Monday to congratulate her on her success at the polls and concede the election, adding that it was a “privilege to serve the people of Wentworth these past three years”.

Allegra Spender

Allegra Spender (pictured) looks to have toppled incumbent Liberal Member for Wentworth Dave Sharma. Photo: Allegra Spender.

Almost 70 per cent of votes had been counted at the time of publishing, with a 54 per cent independent swing having been recorded. After conceding the election, Spender thanked Sharma “for his meaningful and valued contribution to our community and the nation”.

Once votes are finalised, Spender will be Wentworth’s fourth representative in less than four years, with the seat turning increasingly marginal since former prime minister Malcolm Turnbull’s retirement from politics in 2018.

Sharma brought the seat back into Liberal hands at the 2019 federal election, after Independent Kerryn Phelps won the seat against Sharma in the 2018 Wentworth by-election.

Dave Sharma joins host of moderate Liberals unseated at the election 

Spender’s win on the weekend was part of a flurry of successes for ‘teal’ independents in inner-city Liberal seats, which unseated many incumbent Coalition members that helped set the stage for Labor victory.

Kylea Tink in North Sydney and Sophie Scamps in Mackellar also forged major wins against moderate Liberal members, while in Melbourne, Zoe Daniel and Monique Ryan knocked off their incumbent counterparts, including outgoing Treasurer Josh Frydenberg, who lost his Kooyong seat to Ryan.

Earlier on Monday, Anthony Albanese was sworn in as the 31st Prime Minister of Australia, while Scott Morrison said in his concession speech on Saturday night that he would step down as the leader of the Liberal Party.

Related Posts