Arts & Entertainment

Archibald, Wynne & Sulman Prizes Wrap-Up

Winner Archibald Prize 2017. Mitch Cairns 'Agatha Gothe-Snape'. Photo: AGNSW

The Archibald Prize was first awarded in 1921, 97 years ago by the founder of The Bulletin, for portraits of Australians by an Australian artist.

This year’s winner is Self-Portrait After George Lambert by artist Yvette Coppersmith, a five time finalist finally picking up a victory. Other portraits of note are The Packing Room Prize winning work of Jimmy Barnes by Jamie Preisz and Meryl Tankard wearing a pair of nylon knickers by Dee Smart, reminding her of journeys from Darwin to Melbourne in her childhood where she wore the nylon knickers to stop flies attacking their food as they ate. 

Peter Berner’s self-portrait is also great, as is the portrait of the Chief Justice of the High Court, Susan Kiefel FC by Yvonne East and Gladys Berejiklian by Mathew Lynn,

The Wynne Prize began in 1897, 121 years ago following Mr Wynne’s donation to the Art Gallery of NSW. To be eligible for this prize the artwork must be an Australian landscape design by an Australian artist. This year’s winner is Untitled by Yukultiji Napangat. 

Last but not least is the Sir John Sulman Prize which began in 1936, 82 years ago following Sir Sulman’s donation to Art Gallery of NSW for Subject, Genre paintings or a Mural Project by an Australian artist.

This year’s winner is Whiskey Kaylene’s, Kaylene TV, others of merit include Why Can’t I Be Angry by Abdul Abdullah, Women II by Natalaya Hughes, Under The Sea by Clare Thackerway and Erskinville Train Station by  past winner Wendy Sharpe.

Until Sep 9. Art Gallery Of NSW, Art Gallery Rd, The Domain. FREE. Info:

By Andriana Vlahos.

Related Posts